RIN Triggers

Using FirstWatch, public health officials from 80 communities across the United States and Canada are tracking potential flu outbreaks by monitoring live calls to 911 Public Safety Dispatch Centers. Epidemiologists are monitoring for spikes in “flu-like symptoms,” including respiratory problems, abdominal pain, headache and other indicators associated with possible flu cases. The RIN Trigger can monitor these symptoms whether they appear in a local jurisdiction, in regional geo-graphic clusters, or even across the entire population.

There are two types of Trigger areas we look at:

  • Respiratory — Looks at symptoms associated with influenza-like illness that has an effect on the respiratory system and/or breathing; this includes the lungs and upper airway.
  • Non-Respiratory — Looks at symptoms associated with influenza-like illness that has an effect on parts of the body other than the respiratory system such as the heart, head, muscles etc.
Respiratory Trigger Examples
1. Breathing Problems & Clammy
2. Abnormal Breathing
3. Breathing Problems & Changing Color
4. Sick Person with Abnormal Breathing
5. Difficulty Speaking Between Breaths
6. Ineffective Breathing
Non-Respiratory Trigger Examples
1. Fever/Chills
2. Sore Throat
3. Unwell/Ill
4. Headache
5. Dizziness, Vertigo
6. Chest Pain
7. Heart Problems

The built-in ability to aggregate data from different cities makes the RIN and its triggers an even more powerful and timely tool for public health and public safety agencies. Our RIN network triggers are set up to monitor a number of geographical regions in line with the 10 already established by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. See HHS Region Map

  • Region 1 — CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT
  • Region 2 — NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Region 3 — DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, WV
  • Region 4 — AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN
  • Region 5 — IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI
  • Region 6 — AR, LA, NM, OK, TX
  • Region 7 — IA, KS, MO, NE
  • Region 8 — CO, MT, ND, SD, UT
  • Region 9 — AZ, CA, Guam, HI, NV
  • Region 10 — AK, ID, OR, WA