Measles (Rubeola) in Multiple States in the United States

Measles (Rubeola) in Multiple States in the United States


According to the CDC, in the seven (7) weeks since January 1st through February 14, 2019, there have been 127 confirmed cases of measles throughout ten (10) states in the United States.  However, since then, individual counties have indicated an increase in cases as of Feb 18, so the number is actually higher now.   There are currently five (5) outbreaks of Measles located in four (4) states:  multiple areas of New York State (Rockland County, Monroe Country and New York City; two areas of Washington State (Vancouver area, Clark, and King County); Oregon State (Multnomah County), which is associated with Washington’s outbreak, but has its own 4 cases; and several counties in Texas (Harris, Bell, Denton, Galveston, and Montgomery Counties).  There are also other states reporting confirmed cases that number less than 3 in an area, so they are not considered outbreaks but individual cases.  Due to the infectiousness of measles (its ability to spread/transmit from person to person), more outbreaks may be identified by the CDC in the future.  The other states that reported measles cases, of as February 14, 2019, are California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Kentucky, and Illinois.  Note:  New Jersey was included in the Feb 7 list but has dropped off on this newest list.  Clink on this link for specifics:

See the article posted on this page under the category of Outbreaks/Emerging Diseases for more specifics on the disease and implications and recommendations for First Responders.

Download the pdf to this update

Links to Resources – Download the pdf

Share this post